Maltodextrin is a food additive found in many processed foods. Depending on the country you live in, companies do not always have to list what the maltodextrin they use is derived from. 

It can be derived from corn, rice, potato starch, or wheat. Yes, I said WHEAT! This is alarming news for celiacs’ because you almost never see what it is derived from on the label. What do you do to find out if this product is safe to eat? You can call the company and ask them if they know the source of the maltodextrin they use or you can throw caution to the wind, try it and see what happens.

Most companies I have called have not been able to tell me what their maltodextrin is derived from. Therefore, they tell you they cannot guarantee the product is gluten free and that it may not be the best selection for you. 

Throwing caution to the wind

 I call foods like these grey areas. It depends on how badly I want the product. If I can find a gluten free version of a similar product I will purchase that one instead. If I cannot find one, I have to decide if I am going to try it. It is a gamble for your health. Although I don’t recommend buying products where the derivative is not labelled, I have to admit I have taken the leap of faith and tried many of them. I either, feel fine and continue to consume the product or I feel sick and never eat it again. I cannot tell you what to buy or what is safe for you to eat; you have to do what is right for you. I just want to make you aware that you may be consuming a product that contains wheat.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s